Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

06.29.16: Cider Mill, meet Alexander.

Hello, dolls!!!Happy Birthday my baby A ❤ What a year it has been!! I still can’t believe that my baby A is now 1 year old!! I can only look back to the past year with lots and lots of smiles. Baby A brought a lot of happiness to our lives that I can’t think of a day that made me wish things were different. Everything that happened last year lead us to being happier and better.

I could go on and on talking about him all day, and I would still find myself saying “geez, I can’t find the right words to describe how much I love my boy!”.

DSC_0873A

It feels like it was only yesterday when we brought baby A home from the hospital. I remember feeling scared and unprepared. Scared because I knew that as soon as we walk out of the hospital, our new beautiful reality is going to start. I don’t know why I felt unprepared. I had all of the support that I need, diapers and wipes enough to last for more than a year, and a loving home to welcome baby A. I guess it’s normal for a first time Mom to feel like that.

IMG_5869A

It took us 15 min. to get home, the sun was shining bright I remember — a beautiful day to remember. The first 5 minutes in the car was calm, we were enjoying the nice breeze of air from outside. As soon as baby A realized he was in a different environment, he started crying. It was the first time we had a baby crying in the car with us so A and I got a little bit scared lol.

DSC_0844A

Care package from St. Joseph Hospital 🙂  The massager was my favorite!!!

DSC_0863A

One tip that I learned from reading Mommy blogs — freebies from the hospital! If your nurses like you, they will give you more 🙂

We ended up bringing so many diapers for me and baby A! My husband A couldn’t believe it! Lol. I also read not to bring diapers and wipes when you go to the hospital because they will provide it. So instead of wasting your diapers at home, use the ones that they give you at the hospital!

The pads that they gave me were awesome! It says “bladder control pad” so it is for heavy use. They may sound gross to most of you, but normal delivery is messier after you give birth. I was bleeding for a little over a week and I am so glad I did not use my pads from home. Again, the nurses gave me extra to take home so I had enough until I stopped bleeding.

As a thank you, I arranged small gift bags for at least 10 nurses a couple of days before my due date. I was never hospitalized so I never knew or saw how much work the nurses dedicate to every patient. So as a token, I brought gift bags with us to show our appreciation. I wasn’t able to take a picture, unfortunately!

DSC_0864A

The best package that I took home from the hospital!!

Dermoplast Pain Reliever – basically you spray this on your woowee after you pee or shower for relief. They gave me 3 bottles so I kept one in my diaper bag.

Underpads – This is not in most Mommy blogs so it’s sort of a revelation for me. They used this on my hospital bed since I was really bleeding a lot for the first 2 days after delivery. I asked my nurse if I could bring home a couple cause I did not want to stain our sheets at home. I loved how I did not have to worry about A complaining about blood stains in the morning! lol

Tucks – A lot of Momma’s who went through normal delivery swears by tucks. It became my best friend for almost 3 weeks! I would put it on top my pads for that cool relief and I would be good for hours (or until I have to pee again which by the was a struggle for me during my first week!).

(Not in photo) Perinial Cold Pads – my nurse also gave me at least 6 cold pads to take home. SCORE! because they are at least $3 each. Perinial cold pads are the ones that have cooling gels so they are bulky. I loved wearing them and I did not care if I had to walk with an extra pound down there. Nothing after childbirth is pretty during the first month. Lol! Anyway, the cold pads kept my woowee cool for hours (or again. until I have to pee again).

(Not in photo) Disposable Underwear – I wore disposable panties until my bleeding got lighter. I highly advise wearing disposable underwear because heavy bleeding gets REALLY messy. I did not want to ruin my good undies!

Okay, so after giving birth, the feeling down there is just sore! the throbbing pain could be pretty bad if you walk for a while or sit for too long (like you can never win here lol). I read that a lot of Mommies were afraid to poop after giving birth, and that’s true! I am one of them. I was even afraid to pee, that I had to hold my nurse’s hand while I pee because I did not know what was going to come out or if I was going to pass out because of the pain. The cold relief that I got from the cold pads, dermoplast spray, and tucks helped me get through the ugly side of being a new Mommy. The pain was bearable… and guess what? I did not take Iburprofen! My Doctor and nurses asked me a million times but I said no each time 🙂

IMG_5868A

Ready to go home!!!

I wasn’t planning on leaving the hospital so soon. I don’t know what A was thinking but he wanted to go home the day after I gave birth. I guess he was getting too antsy that we were there since 8 AM of the 27th (Monday). I gave birth at 12:37 AM of June 28, so technically I had 36 hours in the hospital after giving birth. We were home in the afternoon on June 29 (Wednesday).  I would sometimes remind A of how he decided to go home before me….and my Doctor! Tell him how he acted like he’s the one who pushed baby A out and has to deal with postpartum, but I guess there was a side of him that he wanted to take care us at home, where he feels comfortable. I was afraid to go home, to be honest! No more nurses to help me pee and put together my “woowee package” — I made A learn how to put it together so he could see how difficult it was! He helped me during our first 2 days at home!

A did a lot for baby A and I during our first month. He would drop everything and go to the drugstore or grocery if I need something (like extra tucks or stool softener!). He would wake up in the middle of the night to put baby A back to sleep and work 12-14 hour shifts after. So I guess, being home, made him feel like he could be a better father and husband.

DSC_0868A

DSC_0869A

Glad I was able to finish his nursery DAYS before I gave birth.

DSC_0872A

Cute balloon from Uncle Peter and Aunt Ali.

DSC_0875A

My tiny boy! ❤

DSC_0876A

No more hospital bands for us!!!!

Going home outfit 🙂

White and blue. Simple and neat!

IMG_5874A

IMG_5875A

“Why is Daddy sleeping?? When I’m awake, he should be too!”

IMG_5879A

Baby A’s first visitor ❤

IMG_5883A

Love watching this boy sleep ❤ Even until now I find myself staring at him while he is asleep.

IMG_5884A

❤ ❤ ❤

DSC_0896A

DSC_0899A

We can put him anywhere and he would be content 🙂

DSC_0903A

His first time out

Yuuup, we took him out 4 days after he was born. I heard mixed reactions about it. Truthfully, seeing him now after a year, all I could say is — chill lang guys. 😛 He is a healthy and happy boy! Nothing happened to him. He was safe and the motion of the car plus the moving stroller kept him calm. We had a pleasant afternoon with his Daddy and grandparents.

DSC_0914A

First family  pic….. sort of.

DSC_0916A

So…. A dressed him up

IMG_5905A.JPG

..and he put baby A’s pants backwards lol

DSC_0919A

Lolo and Lola shopped for baby A!!! ❤

DSC_0920A

The first baby item I bought for baby A when I was still pregnant with him. Beautiful knit blanket from Pottery Barn! It says stroller blanket but I honestly love having this on my nursing chair ❤

DSC_0923A

4th of July weekend with his Pappou, Yiayia, Lolo, and Lola!! ❤

DSC_0944A

Octopus babyyyyy! ❤ ❤ ❤

DSC_0962A

grilled scallops, yes please!! ❤

DSC_0969A

Lamb chops and scallops for baby A’s first weekend with both sets of grandparents ❤

DSC_0972A

Mommy’s fave!! Grilled asparagus ❤

Oh you know…. just making faces while sleeping ❤

DSC_0983A

My “on-the-go” baby A and Mommy baskets.

Another tip that I learned, have diapers and wipes accessible in the house. Baby A has a nice changing station, but obviously, he doesn’t stay in his room all day. Newborns pee and poop a lot so it is easier to have diapers and wipes ready at all times.

I also have my postpartum basket ready so I do not forget anything when I go to the bathroom.

DSC_0984A

Mommy’s Basket

Underpads, perineal cold pads, heavy duty pads, TUCKS!!, disposable underwear, dermoplast, lanolin and breast pads for breastfeeding.

DSC_0985A

Baby A’s basket

Lots of diapers, wipes, desitin (to avoid diaper rash), facial tissue, and sanitizer

FullSizeRender (3)A

That time he took a nap for 6 hours on his 5th day 🙂

IMG_1052A

IMG_1053A

We put his pack and play in our room so we do not have to go out of our bedroom to attend to him in the middle of the night.

Thank you Tita Alyza for baby A’s pack and play ❤

IMG_1070A

Can’t believe he was this skinny!!

IMG_1089A

On A’s last day during his paternal leave, he made black pudding! YUM

IMG_1096A

A posted this photo on his Instagram account.

“We went to the hospital as Rianna and Gerry and came home as Mom and Dad. This week has been so surreal for me. I couldn’t be more proud of my amazing wife for bringing our little guy into this world happy and healthy. These two are the reasons I get out of bed and be the best I can be every day #dadlife “

IMG_1105AIMG_1124A

Ordered my chair AFTER I gave birth #FacePalm

IMG_1133A

IMG_1151A

do not disturb please:P


Reality

DSC_0880A

My belly the day after I gave birth. I looked like I was 5 months pregnant.

DSC_0881A

It became smaller after a week.

DSC_0884A

I started being more active after my Doctor gave me the go signal that I could do light workout — which was 6 weeks after I gave birth.

DSC_0879A.JPG

#MyABoys ❤ ❤ ❤

 

xx

R ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

