Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

Almost 5

OF “DATES”

Hello, dolls! Hello, April! Hello, anniversary month!! It has been 6 weeks since I started my new job. I consider it the “best change” in my life, so far, this year. My new schedule allows me to spend more time with baby A. From working 12 hour shifts that would make me miss spending time with him throughout the day.I get to be a full time Mommy in the afternoon, have the entire weekend with him every week, and I still get to be who I want — a Chef.

If you’ve read my “About Me” (Hello, Stranger— I updated my age and contact e-mail btw! 😉 I mentioned there that I want to be a Chef. A hates it when I sell myself short. It has been 3 years since I became a Chef. Managing a kitchen of my own was something that happened unexpectedly. I remember wondering what I did to deserve such great reward! I thought it would take me at least 10 years to get to where I am now. I sometimes think that maybe I just got lucky, but whenever I look back to the years that I worked all day/night and how I sacrificed not only my personal time, but also being with my family, I realize that I deserve every bit of what I have now. Is it weird that I sometimes ponder if people take me seriously, like you know? People that knew me before… and then I am reminded of my co-workers, my bosses, and the people that compliment the food that I make. I still get kilig when people buy my specials. To be 27 now and have a fulfilling career is by far one of my greatest achievements, definitely!

So yeah, just a little something about work because I know I never really talked about it other than mentioning my schedule.  ; )

As soon as the month of April rolls in, I get reminded of all the adventures that A and I have been on the past x years. This year we are celebrating our 5th anniversary!!

To commemorate our anniversary month (and since I’ve been thinking about our travels lately) here’s a post about our last dinner and brunch in Baltimore before we left for the Philippines to get married.

DSC_0239A

There are so many restaurants that we want to go to. Our list keeps on growing every year so it’s kind of hard to keep up.

There were years when we would eat out at least 3x in one week. There were also years that we just wanted to explore in our kitchen. Last year, we spent more time in our kitchen, so I feel like I will be able to keep up with my posts sometime this year. *ugh crossing my fingers again lol*

I’ve always wanted to go to Pazo ever since I saw A’s pictures with the BCC kitchen team a year before I became an intern.

IMG_1686A

We went on a Saturday night so the restaurant was pretty packed. We had to wait for our table to be ready despite having a reservation. 

DSC_0191A

DSC_0193A

We waited at the lounge. It was a cozy spot to enjoy their open kitchen.

DSC_0194A

This is me getting hangry….DSC_0222A

Our appetizers ❤

Broccoli rabe bruschetta, house made seed crackers (TO DIE FOR! I had to ask for another round lol), frehly baked bread, Zuppa Di Pesce

DSC_0212A

Layers and layers of flavor in one bowl. I could have this as an entree, I wouldn’t mind eating 2 servings of this! Ahh so good!

DSC_0208A

Grilled Spanish Style Octopus

Tender perfectly seasoned octopus. Simple and straight forward. Just like how we want our octopus.

DSC_0218A

Cavatelli with Lamb and Mint

Another killer dish that took me straight to heaven.

DSC_0227A

Spaghetti with Octopus

DSC_0228A

Wood Oven Roasted Monkfish with Fregola
DSC_0233A

Look at this babe….YUM!

IMG_1684A

My date ❤

IMG_7178A

IMG_7180A

Snap from his phone

Thank you Pazo for a wonderful night ❤

IMG_7201A

Before we drove to New York to leave for the Philippines, A and I went to The Elkridge Furnace Inn for brunch.

DSC_0275A

DSC_0281A

Since we were only less than a month away from saying “I do”, I wanted to go somewhere romantic.

DSC_0276A.JPG

The Elkridge Furnace Inn is one of the most romantic places I’ve been to here in Maryland. The 273 year old establishment was the perfect place to be for our last brunch in Baltimore.

DSC_0242A

DSC_0246A

DSC_0247A

Short history of The Elkridge Furnace Inn.

DSC_0248A

My kind of bread basket 😛

DSC_0251A

Foie Gras 

seared foie gras, toasted brioche, over easy egg, maple glaze

I wouldn’t mind having this for brunch once a month…too good!

DSC_0252A

House Cured Gravlax

DSC_0254A

DSC_0255A

A’s Shrimp and Grits

I honestly did not expect A to order shrimp and grits for brunch. I am glad he did because it was so delish! Cheesy grits is LIFE!

DSC_0257A

Omelette for me!!

DSC_0258A

Turkey Sausage

IMG_1701A

Brunch!! ❤

IMG_7186A

😛

IMG_7190A

IMG_7195A

IMG_7196A

date spot

DSC_0265A

The floors creak when you walk through the hallway. My maarte self would say “be careful”, but truthfully to me it’s just another reminder of the history and great things that happened at The Elkridge Furnace in. Imagine the proposals, anniversaries, and weddings that took place there for the past 270+ years.

DSC_0266A

DSC_0269A

DSC_0273A

The entrance to the restaurant. It looks so simple but the inside is so gorgeous!

DSC_0283A

DSC_0286A

Fiance

IMG_7208A

I bet it looks amazing here during spring and summer!

DSC_0292A

OOTD:

Lace dress: H&M

DSC_0294A

DSC_0296A

Back when I used to take “ootds”. Now I hardly have any *eek

DSC_0300A

Almost 5 years with this man!!!! ❤

xx

R

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

