Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

Bangkok Diaries: Amphawa

09.06.14: อัมพวา

Hello, dolls! Happy Tuesday 🙂 I can’t believe that our trip to Manila is just right around the corner. I feel like we just booked our flights yesterday. Time really knows how to play with our emotions sometimes. I am starting to get anxious about my wedding, feel sad because I know I will only get to be a full time bride-to-be for less than 21 days, and happy because after 7 months I can finally be with my family again…and even more excited because it is a dream come true to have both of my families together!!!! My head is a riot so I don’t know if I even made sense. haha

I can consider my year a successful one when I get to travel. I have never missed a year to go someplace I have never been to before since I was 14, and to me that is one of the best blessings ever! To be able to find time,go somewhere,see new things,and feel free.

IMG_9315A

So today, let me share with you the continuation of our Bangkok trip

Read my previous posts about our trip here https://riannagalvez.wordpress.com/category/thailand-2/

DSC_1146A

As you all know, A and I are big fans of Anthony Bourdain. We use his show as our guide when we visit another city. We accomplished a lot of the restaurants that he recommended in Hong Kong, some in New York, a couple in New Jersey, and of course, we took the opportunity to go to the places he went to in Thailand.

DSC_1065A

Amphawa is outside Bangkok. After visiting 2 of the best temples in Thailand, we took a short break to change into something more comfortable and drove to Samut Songkram, Amphawa.

IMG_9251A

 It is about 32 miles from Bangkok so it was quite a drive for us.Which was good because it was nice to be out of the City even for just a while. Also, we were able to rest in the van after having an eventful morning.

DSC_1123A

It was pretty gloomy on our way to the floating market. It started poring after we had our sumptuous lunch (which I will share with you shortly).

 

DSC_1126A

These stalls of fresh produce welcomed us. My parents could not help it they had to check the stalls right away

 

 

DSC_1135A

Hawker stalls are very common in Asia so going through this steep crowded entrance did not bother me. A almost died because he was afraid to bump someone haha

 

DSC_1138A

but seriously, the struggle was real. I was afraid too haha

 

DSC_1143A

One of my favorite snacks!!!! (Ahhh I WANT THIS NOW!)

 

DSC_1142A

crispy fried sweet baby squid… OMG #YUMMS

 

IMG_9284A

had to stop ourselves from getting something here…we had to walk through food stalls before we got to the floating market!!

DSC_0078A

…and finally! ❤

 

DSC_0079A

almost seemed surreal that we are experiencing something one of a kind. I remember hearing stories about Thailand and their floating markets, couldn’t be any happier that we got to go.

DSC_0080A

 

 

Anthony Bourdain sat on the steps, but honestly I am happy that they have tables and stools now! Cause duhhh the arte girl in me won’t sit on the wet steps haha
DSC_1150A

DSC_1157A

DSC_1149A

 Spotted: Thai Iced Tea… aaaah

DSC_1160A

I guess we can call her the Queen of Pad Thai

DSC_1148A

Thai Iced Tea, anyone? He makes it the best!

 

DSC_1170A

Had Thai Iced Tea in every meal when I was in Bangkok. The plastic holder is perfect for shoppers in Amphawa! 🙂

 

DSC_1183A

 Pork Satay with toast and peanut sauce

DSC_1165A

As expected, DEEEELISH!

DSC_1172A

Grilled Squid with Green Chili Sauce

 

DSC_1171A

Perfectly grilled squid. This was super tender and delish! A must try in Amphawa

 

DSC_1173A

A ordered noodles of course. However, we can’t remember what it’s called. But this is another must try.

 

DSC_1174A

Instant noodles with seafood, Thai sausage,and vegetables. YUMMS!

DSC_1175A

…and of course…we can’t let our visit to Amphawa end without having a serving of Pad Thai!

 

 

 

DSC_1176A

This was ridiculously cheap and PHENOMENAL! Definitely one of the best Pad Thais I’ve had.

 

DSC_1181A

Our little table for 2

DSC_1185A

Daddy ordered seafood for everyone. Grilled Scallops and Tiger Prawns!! YUMMMS!

DSC_1187A

DSC_1194A

DSC_1196A

DSC_1200A

The woman behind the perfectly grilled squid, prawns and scallops

 

DSC_1202A

Look for this boat for pork satay

 

DSC_1207A

DSC_1208A

Hi Anthony Bourdain, we made it to Amphawa! 🙂

 

DSC_1199A

DSC_1220A

Amphawa is the second most popular floating market in Thailand. It is only open on weekends. I deserve a pat on the back for coming up with a successful itinerary for us. We were able to go to all of the places we wanted to see.

IMG_9289A

Had to buy raincoats because it started raining. It only lasted for 10 minutes after we put it on. We almost felt like returning it! hahaha

 

DSC_1224A

 

The other side of Amphawa coming up soon!!! 🙂

Hungry yet?

xx

R

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

