Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

09.06.2014: พระพุทธมหาสุวรรณปฏิมากร

Hello, dolls! Happy Friday! This week has been going pretty well for me. I am happy that I got to accomplish a lot of things this week, despite of my head being a massive riot because of the million things I am thinking about. I feel ashamed because I have TONS of personal messages, comments here on WordPress, and e-mails that I STILL have to attend to. It’s crazy!!! I feel like every time I respond to one, I receive 5 more in return. So I would like to apologize to the dolls that gave me some lovin’ for the past few weeks.

Tonight, I am going to share the first part of our second day in Bangkok. With all the things that I have in my head right now, traveling is still something that never leaves my mind. If I could freeze time and just take a short leave from the planning,work,and normalcy, I would like to travel…go somewhere with A and our families, and not think about anything. (though…duhhh. it’s going to happen next month! haha)

Before I move on, read about our first day in Bangkok here:

https://riannagalvez.wordpress.com/category/thailand-2/

DSC_0841A

My family and I are on the same page when it comes to City tours. We are a family of foodies and shoppers, so our itinerary is mostly about food and shopping centers.

But of course, we still want to immerse ourselves and learn about Thailand so we devoted half of our day to see the best temples in Bangkok.

IMG_9221A

Our first stop was Wat Traimit. This is where the Golden buddha is, the world’s largest solid gold statue in the world — weighing 5.5 tons.

DSC_0908A

Our second day in Bangkok has got to be the busiest day for us during our trip. I told everyone to wake up early and eat a lot for breakfast,which A loved because our hotel serve continental breakfast buffet haha

IMG_9231A

 

IMG_9230A

We knew that we have to wear “temple approved” clothes during our City tour but I guess we kind of forgotten after our breakfast because when Mr. Banks saw us he advised us to cover up a little more, so yeap we had to change twice that morning lol.

DSC_0843A

 

DSC_0842A

A large portrait of the King will welcome you as you walk up to the statue of the Golden Buddha

 

DSC_0845A

DSC_0895A

DSC_0898-tile

oh you know…just being…us.

DSC_0835A

Wat Traimit is very beautiful! The marble building with the gold accents made us all in awe of it’s uniqueness and breathtaking structure.

DSC_0849A

Large wishing pot

 

DSC_0850A

Mama making a wish

 

DSC_0851A

DSC_0853A

Behold, the Golden Buddha

 

DSC_0856A

10663221_10152735206667959_1604123525_oA

We all LOVE Mr. Banks! I am so happy that I stayed connected to him because he is the perfect tourist guide for us. Very witty! I had so much fun hearing stories and the history of Bangkok from him again.

 

DSC_0873A

The statue is 9.8 ft tall and can be disassembled to 9 pieces. It is estimated to be worth 250 million dollars.

 

DSC_0874A

On February 14,2010 they built a new building at the Wat Traimit to house the Golden buddha — no wonder it looked extra beautiful the second time I went!

 

DSC_0875A

DSC_0876A

DSC_0877A

The inside of the temple is one of a kind. The architecture blew us away.

 

DSC_0879A

DSC_0880A DSC_0881A

 

DSC_0865A

Family picture with Mr. Banks,and the Golden Buddha behind us.

DSC_0867A

yay for family pictures!

 

DSC_0883A

DSC_0884A

DSC_0885A

DSC_0846A

view form the top

 

 

DSC_0886A

DSC_0889A

Wat Traimit Bell

 

DSC_0891A

IMG_9228A

A spotted a hospital…cause no one really cares about hospitals when they travel. haha

DSC_0892A

sissy

DSC_0903A

official travel buddies

IMG_9221A

Wat Traimit is a definite must see when in Bangkok

DSC_0848A

OOTD

I originally wanted to wear my blue maxi dress with another top, but since my first option is an off shoulder (which I wore later that day), I had to change my top. My top is a light short sleeve button down, perfect for Bangkok, but not good enough to go in the temples so I had to wear my burgundy cardigan to make my outfit “temple appropriate”.

Us ladies got hats during our first night for that “Bangkok street style vibe”. I love how it goes with pretty much all of my outfits!

P.S. This is probably one of the only few posts that I have written that does not involve food! haha

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

