Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

Hello, Bangkok II

09.05.2014: First Day High

Hello, dolls! 🙂 Happy Friday!! Aaah only 3 more (or maybe 4) Fridays like this and I will be embracing the joys of being a full time bride-to- be!!! For my last post for February, I am going to share with you the second installment of our Bangkok trip.

One of my goals for my second time in Bangkok was to “go hard”. A and I were teasing my sister about all the food that she has to try, being a picky eater, she would always give us this weird gross look whenever we mention a kind of street food and how spicy and funky smelling it could be. Go big or go home, became our official motto lol. Every time we are in doubt of something, even when it’s not extreme such as buying a skirt,we would say “go big or go home” haha

DSC_0767A

So anyway, it has been about 4 years since my last trip to Thailand. 4 years is a long time, but I was surprised that mostly everything that I saw during my first trip remained the same.

DSC_0709A

We stayed at the same hotel, so it was easier for me to remember most of the things that I did and saw before, especially how to get around.

DSC_0710A

The location of our hotel is really convenient for all shopaholics like us. We are right in front of Central Mall, they set up night markets  outside the hotel and the mall, food carts are always there early in the morning until late night.

 

 

DSC_0740A

We arrived in Bangkok at noon. So after checking in to our hotel we decided to go to the mall and have our first meal in the city of smiles.

We did not go hard for our first meal. HAHA we were pretty exhausted and we just wanted food that is not too foreign for us. Also, I wanted to warm up my family’s taste buds. I did not want to put them off or anything…we have a long day and long weekend ahead of us.

DSC_0712A

So we went to Kobune a Japanese restaurant and sat at the sushi bar (for the experience lol).

 

DSC_0723A

Sushi, noodles, and tonkatsu… sorry Thailand but the Japanese kind of won us over for lunch

 

 

DSC_0726A

DSC_0729A

DSC_0731A

Daddy and A got this black pepper short rib noodle soup

It was realllly spicy! They both had a hard time finishing it because of th spiciness. But overall flavor was good.

DSC_0733A

DSC_0734A

My yakisoba!!Yes ❤

DSC_0735A

DSC_0737A

sashimi

DSC_0741A

DSC_0742A

 

DSC_0755A

Malls in Asia are awesome!! I could literally live in the mall

DSC_0746A

So I had places and activities lined up for our 4 day trip to Bangkok. And of course shopping was in between everything…or pretty much the main purpose of each day lol

DSC_0761A

Portraits of the King/Queen are everywhere

 

DSC_0771A

sibling love
IMG_9201A

one of the best ways to appreciate the beauty of a city is to go to places through public transportation. immerse yourself.

DSC_0765A

…and you know cause traffic is pretty bad in Bangkok

 

DSC_0775A

first BKK-ish activity: Bangrak Bazaar!!! 

Cause we were so ready and excited to shop..and haggle!

 

DSC_0777A

shopping and eating goes perfectly together.

DSC_0778A

DSC_0779A

octopus in super spicy dipping sauce

DSC_0785A

DSC_0786A

Thank you, Bangarak! It was VERY nice to meet you.

 

DSC_0787A

So the thing that A and I loves the most when we travel is to list down all the restaurants that we want to go to and then try to go to all of them. Our inspiration of course, is Anthony Bourdain. We watch all the episodes and list down all the restaurants.

 

DSC_0788A

first on our list was Jok Prince…..and it was friggin’ close when we went!!!!!!!!!!! We walked for about 30 minutes and asked locals who did not seem to understand us just to find this place. and when we did, aaaah to our disappointment it was closed! This made A and I feel that we SHOULD definitely go back to Bangkok so we can try their super delicious porridge.

Hey Anthony Bourdain, we were there!!! We tried!!!!

DSC_0790A

What better way to forget about our disappointment? Ice cold milk tea and iced tea break.

10658263_10152735356417959_1398281945_oA

 

DSC_0792A

After Bangarak adventure,we went to Siam Paragon and OMG….it is beyond beautiful!
DSC_0794A

DSC_0798A

siblings

IMG_9203A

still feel bad that I did nut push A to go in. If only I knew how much he loved this store when he went to London!!

Oh well…there’s always a next time.

DSC_0803A

a BKK trip is not complete without going to Patpong.

I remember being approached by “friendly” locals for a night of entertainment during my first trip….and HA! it happened again.

DSC_0807A

DSC_0810A

cause my brother Remo loves takoyaki and I was on a misson…and that is for them to try every food that is appealing to them.

 

DSC_0809A

DSC_0811A

DSC_0812A

DSC_0815A

takoyaki for our dinner appetizer.

so we couldn’t figure out where to go for dinner.and really, we weren’t that hungry.

and since we were already on the streets..we decided to go for street food. BEST. IDEA. EVER!

 

DSC_0816A

SUPER DELICIOUS chicken barbecue sticks!!! Only 10 baht each stick…about 30 US CENTS!

 

DSC_0817A

OH YES

 

 

DSC_0818A

liver,intestine,gizzards. Are we in the Philippines?

The street food in Thailand is almost similar to what we have in the Philippines, that’s why I think it wasn’t hard for us to adjust to the food.

 

DSC_0820A

DSC_0827A

papaya salad

cause Daddy knows I need my veggies

 

DSC_0829A

bacon wrapped hotdog

my brother ate about 10 sticks of this, with 4 hotdogs each stick haha

 

DSC_0831A

IMG_9204

first tuktuk experience with the fam

it was thrilling and scary as they say. but the look on their faces while the drivers were showing off was priceless

 

DSC_0781A

cause when in Thailand..you wear prints! 😉

xx

R ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

