Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

NYC: Jeepney

07.20.14: Summer Adventures

Hello,dolls! I was supposed to post this last night, but I felt really sick. ughh We had our first snowfall 3 days ago, so I guess this is how my body is adjusting. Coming from a tropical country, wherein you can only distinguish the weather as hot or hotter (lol), my body is really not used to winter. I am not a fan of winter, in fact I am already counting the days until it’s over. If it weren’t for the outfits that I can wear, I would probably abhor it. Since I am in dire need of anything that will keep me warm throughout the day, I am going to share with you our NYC food adventure this past summer. Talking about summer and a Filipino restaurant (cause it’s always warm in the Philippines) will surely help me stay cozy.

IMG_8058A

A wawa stop is always part of our schedule when we go to NJ or NY. And of course, I do not leave without a nice cold peach yogurt smoothie to keep me energized. haha

I like how Wawa has healthy food and drink choices!

DSC_0611A

A and I has a long list of places that we want to go to — overseas, here in Baltimore, other big states, and of course..New York.

I am very happy to say that we crossed off a lot of restaurants on our list last year. Including restaurants that are not very close to us… yay!

DSC_0593A

Filipino cuisine is still trying to make its way to be known and loved globally. It’s only now that a number of Filipino restaurants here in Baltimore opened up (3 years ago I only knew about 2, this year… we have 2 more Filipino restaurants close to us now yay!). So imagine our excitement when we found out about Jeepney, 1 of the 12 restaurants in New York that we know of. 

DSC_0559A

One of the first tagalog words that A learned, sarap!

It’s nice to see this as soon as you walk in the restaurant, it tells the customers of what’s ahead of them.

DSC_0561A

Jeepney is a Filipino Gastropub, they do a modern take on classic Filipino dishes.

A and I are so happy that we were able to go to NYC on a Saturday! I love brunch so I was looking forward to try their weekend brunch specials 🙂

DSC_0560A

DSC_0562A

DSC_0563A

Filipino inspired decorations were eveywhere

 

DSC_0565A

 

 

 

DSC_0568A

Love this spot in the restaurant! Especially because we have some of the books 🙂

 

 

DSC_0569A

 

DSC_0570A

Summer is the best time for outdoor dining

 

DSC_0574A

DSC_0579A

Tagaytay Shake

Avocado, milk, sugar, and toasted coconut flakes

 

DSC_0586A

DSC_0587A

Avocado shake is my ultimate favorite smoothie. Mango, coconut, and melon are next. So give me 2 flavors out of those 4, I’ll go crazy!

 

DSC_0588A

Look at this beaut!

 

 

IMG_8088A

Big smile cause it was super delish!

DSC_0595A

Hello, Jeepney brunch 😉

 

DSC_0596A

Ube Pancakes and Longganisa 

I do not normally order pancakes for brunch, but this has every flavor that I want — ube, calamansi, and macapuno.

 

DSC_0598A

The longganisa was super good!!!! A loved it too.

I like how they serve the ube pancakes with macapuno syrup and calamansi butter.

 

 

 

DSC_0597A

Bulalo Hash

Bone marrow, short rib and potato hash, fried farm egg, pandesal and bulalo soup

DSC_0603AThis dish was made for A. Oh my, the look on his face when he saw the bone marrow!

DSC_0602A

A was generous enough to let me finish the pandesal. It was such a surprise! We did not know they’ll have pandesal prior to our trip to NYC.

IMG_8082A

IMG_8085A

 

DSC_0607A

Our brunch was very remarkable. It was so nice to go to a restaurant that serves creative Filipino food.

IMG_7414-tile

Self portraits were in order…of course.

xx

R

Comments on: "NYC: Jeepney" (1)

  1. […] So anyway, here’s the continuation of my blog post about our NYC trip over the summer. https://riannagalvez.wordpress.com/2015/01/10/nyc-jeepney/ […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

