Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

December in Manila

12.2013: Memories at home

Hello, dolls! 🙂 Happy Christmas Eve!!!!!!! Aaaah another year of spending the holidays away from my family, but thank God this year is not going to be sad or anything because I have A’s family with me. I sometimes feel guilty when I overlook the sad part of being away from home, I feel like I am cheating.

I miss home… I miss all our December traditions. I know it’s too much to ask, but sometimes I wish I have both.

DSCN1379A

The food that I make at home helps me remember all the good moments that I had with my family.

DSCN1376A

Just like this Chocolate Cupcake with Reese’s Peanut Butter Frosting that I made for my family who loves to eat desserts like me.

DSCN1374A

Last year, I spent the week before Christmas Eve baking! Baking for family, friends, and my Mom’s demand (haha). I had the chance to do my holiday baking this year, but it felt VERY different. My piggies are not here to eat my baked goodies….

DSCN1293A

For my afternoon date with my Dad, I made a dish with one of his favorites — shrimp.

DSCN1294A

Shrimp with the head on and Sausage in Tomato Sauce

DSCN1296A

Seeing my family all gathered at the dining table for Christmas Eve made me wish that I was home cooking for them…

DSCN9805A

I had to be creative with our speculoos goodies at home since we had too many.

DSCN9810A

So I’ve decided to use it as a crust for my chocolate tart.

It was now one of my favorite things to make!

DSCN9817A

melting melting melting chocolate

DSCN9825A

Cause I love “mah” ramekins!

IMG_0978A

Smooth and velvety chocolate tart! I love this sooo much!

I made this recipe this year for us to feast on tomorrow 🙂

IMG_2928A

“what’s in my pantry” kind of night.

IMG_1599A

Green Tea chocolate bar from Hong Kong…. aaaaah I need one now.

IMG_2755A

IMG_2756A

Another Christmas tradition that we always do at home is to get our Christmas ham and keso de bola from Excellente.

 

IMG_2760A

A tradition that’s been passed on from my grandfather.

I grew up with my Dad taking us to Quiapo. So it never bothered me. I am always excited to go there cause he takes us to all the best restaurants to eat delicious food. #fattyproblems

IMG_2752A

I like to go here for my dice ube hopia

IMG_2753A

..and I love them hotttt!

 

 

IMG_2757A

Daddy goes here for hopia. I must say that they have the best! Better than Eng Bee Tin!

The owner is very nice that whenever we go we never leave without a little extra.

IMG_4769A

And how can I not miss going to church with my family during Christmas?? And welcoming my brother’s birthday after mass! Aaaah the feeling.

IMG_2833A

Random “I am going to Quiapo” OOTD

 

IMG_2834A

IMG_2838A

 

Merry Cristmas, dolls!!! 🙂

Don’t worry! This is not my Christmas post yet! xx, R

Comments on: "December in Manila" (2)

  1. They look so delicious!! ❤ Merry Christmas to you and to your family 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

