Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

24: Birthday Brunch

11.29.2014: Hello, I am 24!

Hello dolls!!!! 🙂 As promised, here’s an entry about my 24th birthday. Life got extra exciting after I turned 24. How I wish I could have more hours in a day so I can finish everything that I have to do. The OCD in me is telling me that I should just keep on going…no stopping! But my fun-loving self is telling me to give my body a little break cause it is starting to get exhausted. Aaah how I wish time could freeze…even for just a day.

So I started the first page of the new chapter of my life with so much life. I think it is safe to say that we get rewarded equally by the amount of responsibilities that we face. That’s why I keep on reminding myself that I should embrace everything that comes my way, not complain. 353 days until I turn 25 but there are days wherein I feel like quarter life crisis is knocking on my door early. Haha Oh well, I have 353 days to make each day of my 24th year on earth memorable 😉

DSC_0223A

The eve of my birthday I can honestly say that I was not 101% excited about my birthday. I knew both A and I had to work all night so my excitement level was only 100….annnd I am away from my family so it was hard to be ALLLLL the way happy.

But waking up to a beautiful morning made me realize how God can bless us with the happiness that we deserve in different ways.

I know how blessed I am because of A and our family here. I was greeted by A as soon as I woke up and a table filled with presents and one of my favorite things to receive on special occasions…balloons!

It must be a challenge for A to pull off his surprise because I can be pretty nosy when it comes to my birthday and our anniversary (include Christmas as well! haha). I am very blessed to have a man who would wake up early to surprise me.

DSC_0191A

Since we only had the morning to celebrate, we decided to go out for brunch.

Not a lot of restaurants close to where we live serve brunch on Saturday so I asked A to choose where to go.

I have to commend him for always knowing where to take me. This is one of the best restaurants I’ve been!!! And I’m sorry if I have to keep it a secret for a little while 🙂

DSC_0192A

I only had an idea of the background of the restaurant. I knew they have daily specials, bake their pastries fresh, and serve British inspired food.

I had this huge smile on my face as soon as we walked it….it’s the kind of place I would love to go to for brunch!!! 🙂

DSC_0193A

What’s your morning drink?

DSC_0194A

I had the mango lassi (the on the far left) because how can I resist mango and yogurt???

Truthfully it was not the best mango drink I’ve tasted, but I can’t hate it because I know how mangoes taste here…they’re nothing compared to our mangoes in Asia. So no room for complaining! 🙂

DSC_0195A

The Dad-in-law ordered a cheddar biscuit for us to share while waiting for our food.

I love biscuits!!!! I swear everytime I see biscuit on the menu I have to have it!! And I am so happy he got this cause it was soooo good!

DSC_0196A

Maria’s roast beef sandwich

Look at that big baby!

DSC_0198A

The Mom-In-Law got a chicken and waffle sandwich

 

DSC_0199A

This looked very delicious!!!!! Aaaah. I like how they use sliced roasted chicken breast! I can’t wait to try this the next time we visit.

DSC_0202A

Yesssss

 

DSC_0200A

I love waffles and I wanted to treat myself. I decided to get something I wouldn’t order during my normal days. So I got a waffle. I GOT A WAFFLE!

DSC_0201A

Mmmm… I LOVE their seasonal compote!! Berries and pineapple and everything nice….yummms!

DSC_0203A

The men got beer battered cod sandwich with mushy peas 

Our jaws dropped when our server walked to our table with 2 HUGE sandwiches!

DSC_0204A

This is probably one of the best beer battered fish that I have tried in my life!!! It was fried to perfection and the batter was flavorful enough that it added more depth to the cod.

I must say, I am not a big sandwich person but all of their sarnies looked great that I would probably order one when we go back!

for afternoon tea, perhaps? they have an amazing afternoon tea menu!

DSC_0205A

all sarnies came with a bucket of house made chips tossed in malt vinegar.

 

DSC_0206A

Cause a British restaurant is not complete without HP sauce!

DSC_0209A

…and now, the death of me.

I wanted to get EVERYTHING! But I had to control myself because I know I have tons of sweets waiting for me back at the apartment.

DSC_0208A

So I’ve decided to get this baby….

DSC_0210A

..and this too because the Mom-in-Law loves donuts!! 🙂

DSC_0211A

DSC_0212A

My new favorite chocolate chip cookie!!!! AAAAAAAH this is torture!!! Staring at this cookie makes me wish I have it now!

DSC_0215A

Like seriously! It’s the most perfect thing ever…look at the layers of chocolate and cookie dough overlapping each other…it’s to die for!

 

DSC_0214A

Homemade doughnut with spicy Mexican hot chocolate ganache.

Hands up to them…they nailed this one!

IMG_0649A

For instagram…but failed to post this one on time! haha so #tbt?

DSC_0216A

Before we went out for brunch…we all had a glass of champagne! I had to stop myself after 3 sips… hahaha

DSC_0224A

Cause a birthday is not complete without birthday cake!!!! I have the sweetest Mom-in-Law because she surprised me with an ice cream cake!!!!! 🙂 ❤

IMG_0652A

Happiness at 24!!!

Next post will be about my presents!!! ❤

xx

R ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

