Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

24th Birthday Month

Hello,sweets! Hello, birthday month!!!! Aaaah I can’t believe it’s November already. My sweet fiance sent me a sweet message today telling me it’s already my birthday month.That started my day right because I love it when A remembers little details that make me happy. Anyway, the month of November makes me miss home more. My birthday is less than a month away from Christmas (and my brother’s birthday) so I always get pretty sentimental. This year, I will be missing holidays at home…again. Good thing, I have memories from last year’s festivities with me to help me get through this year with a big smile on my face.

IMG_1516

Yes….my life mantra.

And it’s a real thing because I really do eat cake for breakfast once in while. Haha

DSCN9988A

  • Today I will share with you some of the things that I did when I was still in the Philippines. I don’t think there is no better way to celebrate this day but to reminisce of all the good things that I shared with my family over food.
  • Like this mini red velvet cake.

DSCN9989A

I am going to say it again, I am not a Pastry Chef. My knowledge about baking, for me, is very basic. I don’t do fondants or temper chocolates….yet.

DSCN9986A

I like to practice and do things I don’t normally do. I’ve never done  a homemade cake before so I tried to do a mini red velvet cake.

Mini cause I did not want to waste anything in case I  do something crazy. haha

DSCN9987A

My first time was not bad , and made me realize that I can bake a cake! That it’s not too hard like what other people say.

I’ve been baking cakes like crazzzzy lately. Wish I can send a slice to my family!

IMG_2479A

Red Velvet Cupcake with Cream Cheese Frosting … just because.

DSCN0105A

What do you do when you have 2 jars of unopened speculoos cookie butter? Use it as an ingredient for baking!

DSCN0088A

Not everyone in my family likes speculoos cookie butter because of the cinnamon flavor so I had to think of a way to make them like this.

IMG_1618A

Solution: A good triple  threat bars recipe.

DSCN0097A

So I found a recipe and did it. One of the best ways to use cookie butter (the ultimate best is to take a spoonful and devour it of course!)

DSCN0104A

1st layer: Speculoos Cookie Butter

2nd layer:  Brownie

3rd layer: Chocolate Chip

…..now drool!

DSCN0192

Having a picky sister is not easy. When I’m home, I always try to cook or bake things that I know she will like.

DSCN0188A

One of her favorites are cream puffs.

DSCN0189A

Topped it with ganache to make it extra perfect for her 🙂

DSCN1153A

I loved the speculoos threat bars so much I’ve deicded to do the recipe again. This time, I substituted the marshmallow creme for the speculoos cookie butter.

 

DSCN1148A

Layer # 3 in the making… chocolate chip! #YUMMY

IMG_4395A

 

DSCN1150A

Marshmallow creme is too sweet for us, so it was really good to incorporate it to a baked dessert.

DSCN1152ADSCN1154A

 The marshamllow creme bars did not las long in our house. I am so glad everyone loved it!

IMG_4398A

Can’t wait to share more food photos soon!!! 🙂

…..and happy birth month to me!!! ❤

xx

R ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

