Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

The NJ Life

05.12.14: Mother’s Day x Day of A Mother

Hello, sweets! 🙂 Hello, NJ! I have an extended “weekend” this week and I couldn’t be any happier that I spent it with great friends and my family here in Baltimore. I am blogging from New Jersey again YAY! I think it’s perfect that I write something about New Jersey and how we usually spend our “weekends” here. I am blessed that A’s family never made me feel like I am an outsider, they’ve welcomed me with love and opened their 2 homes to me when A and I started dating. I still remember the first time we took a trip to New Jersey, I did not want to go back to Baltimore. Going to New Jersey is our little piece of vacation in the middle of our crazy work life.

DSC_0981A

I love how  the house in NJ makes me feel like I am not too away from home.

Anyway, I will be sharing one of the celebrations that we looked forward to this year

DSC_0180A

I enjoy baking, it’s my little break from what I normally do.I graduated with a degree in Culinary, so I have no formal training when it comes to baking though our patisserie and bread baking class helped me understand it. And at work, I am assigned on the hot station. That’s why baking excites me, especially that I am a big lover of desserts.

When I got back from my home country a couple of months ago, one of A’s surprises for me is Momofuku Milk Bar’s Cookbook! It made me so happy because now I can make some of their cookies at home.

DSC_0163A

Since it’s Mrs. S birthday, I’ve decided to bake MMB’s confetti cookies.

DSC_0167A

I am such a cookie dough freak. I think it’s the best part of baking. I can eat up to 3 tbsps per recipe of whatever I am doing! haha

DSC_0168A

The oven in my apartment is not the friendliest of all. I honestly think it isn’t calibrated so I had to watch my cookies carefully. This is a bit golden than the cookies at Milk Bar so I had to pull out the second batch sooner.

DSC_0172A

…and I finally got it!

I think it’s pretty natural for Chefs to be pretty hard on their selves when they do something. And for me, when I know I am following a recipe from a cookbook, I want it to come out like the author’s creation.

 

DSC_0176A

The recipe was able to make a lot! And when I say a lot, good for 30 people in my case because after making 5 Milk Bar sizes, I decided to bake the rest into a smaller size.

 

DSC_0179A

This was the first recipe that I made from the cookbook, and I am so happy how it turned out! 🙂

 

IMG_6468A

Good Morning, New Jersey!!!! 🙂

IMG_6467A

Beautiful view at the deck and delicious breakfast for Mrs. S birthday and Mother’s Day ❤

I love breakfasts! And this one has got to be one of my favorites this year. We had cherries, pancakes, yummy sausage from the Amish market, and bellini! YUMMMS ❤

DSC_0186A

Being with A’s family is no different from being with my family. They love going on food adventures just like my family and I!

DSC_0187A

For Mrs. S’ birthday lunch ,we took a trip to Harold’s a Jewish deli….an awesome Jewish Deli!

DSC_0188A

We were welcomed by these enormous cakes! OMG can I have one for my birthday?

IMG_6471A

Oooooh look at that! I am not kiiding when I say they are ENORMOUS!

DSC_0190A

New York is also known for their egg cream.

The firs ttime I tried this drink was at Emporiyum with A. It’ was such a treat to try one from NY!

DSC_0193A

Buffet of pickles.

I do not like pickles, but since they have a wide selection, I was able to enjoy a couple….which I didn’t know exist until I my visit to Harold’s.

DSC_0194A

They have everything that you will want with your deli sandwich. Rye bread is available for everyone (you  will know why shortly)

DSC_0196A

A ordered Chicken In The Pot

A whole chicken with a huge matzoh ball, noodles, consomme, garden vegetables and kreplach.

This is good for a family of 8. This reminded me of our dish in the Philippines called tinola.

DSC_0201A

Delicate and flavorful. Never knew Jewish food is good until this!

DSC_0197A

Harold’s corned beef

Everything in Harold’s are HUGE! Look at this delicious corned beef sandwich!

 

DSC_0199A

Harold’s pastrami sandwich

The reason why they have rye bread at the buffet! You will definitely need more bread!!

DSC_0200A

They make huge an understatement. I love love love pastrami! And Harold’s does not disappoint. Each slice is full of flavor and not dry.

We only got 3 items but they were enough to feeld up to 15 people!

DSC_0202A

Thank you Harold’s for the delicious food and amazing experience!

 

DSC_0225A

Greek Iced Coffee

DSC_0227A

.Buuuuuuut I love it when my man cooks!

DSC_0229A

Salad greens, homemade vinaigrette and pine nuts. I could finish this big bowl!

DSC_0230A

Veal Marsala for dinner! This is why I am lucky to have a Greek-Italian fiance! ❤

DSC_0231A

Cherry Bomb

DSC_0986A

Thank you A!!! For taking me to beautiful places and let me have another place that I can feel loved ❤

DSC_1006A

One of the few times that the timer made us look silly.

DSC_0994A

One of my to go outfits during the summer season.

Teal skater skirt from my brother and Klariz x top from Topshop.

xx

R ❤

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

