Sugar, spice, and a pinch of GLAM

Fire Lake Grill

One reason that keeps me going back to Tagaytay aside from the weather and the mix of rural and urban environment are the restaurants. The thing that I always keep in mind when dining in a restaurant in Tagaytay is that,we don’t only pay for the food, we also pay for the location and ambiance of the restaurant. Tagaytay has so much to offer when it comes to restaurants, and I see to it that I try something new (wait…don’t I always do?haha) every visit.

My Dad originally planned to take us to Antonio’s.But, unfortunately, the number that we have were out of reach. My Dad doesn’t want the uncertainty of us not having a table so he brought us to Fire Lake Grill instead. I was very excited cause love going to Cliff House! It reminds me of Ayala Hillside.

Our family was torn between 2 restaurants, Fire Lake Grill and Cafe Breton. My Dad really wants us to dine in FLG altogether but Renzo,Chella and my Mom was deeply attracted to Cafe Breton’s crepes so we had to part ways for dinner. Boo!

Very serene atmosphere 🙂

I wanted to take photos of the restaurant,especially the “semi”open-kitchen, but I was glued to my seat and the calm ambiance of the restaurant makes it hard for me to walk around with my camera! haha 🙂 #ShyGirlMuch?

Pumpkin Soup

My Dad and I had to force this down to our system. It wasn’t to our liking. There were only three soup choices: Chicken Consomme,Pumpkin Soup and Tomato Soup. I told my Dad that a bowl of thick soup would be perfect for the cold weather so the consomme was immediately crossed out to our choices. It was a battle between tomato soup and this (pumpkin soup), I love anything that has tomato so I know that the tomato soup would not fail BUT being the risk-taker that I am (and the essence of me trying something new – though pumpkin soup is not really new to my palette) I went for this..and sadly it failed us 😦

Freshly baked bread never fails to set-up my appetite! 🙂

I convinced my Dad to help me finish my meal..bu food is a different story to my Dad. Him helping me means I should take part of his meal too! He is such a giver..to the point that it makes me faaaaat. #chot

250grams of Angus Rib-Eye (grilled medium rare – my desired doneness)with 30 grams of pan-seared Fois Gras in Red Wine and Shallot sauce with Sauteed Vegetables

The picture speaks for itself..actually it doesn’t since it did not give justice to this plate from heaven! Everything on this white plate was PEEEERFECT!

My brother Remo’s plate

250 grams of Angus Rib-Eye in herbed gravy with potato wedges and sauteed vegetables

My brother wanted his steak to be well-done but unfortunately only 1/3 was accorded to his desire and the rest was medium well.

1st batch of my share from my Dad’s plate.

My order

Braised Australian lamb shank with saffron-herb risotto lamb stock reduction with roasted garlic

It was VERY tender! The sauce was very rich and the risotto was divine! I still prefer lamb chops though! 🙂

We had to force each other to finish everything to the point that I felt my abdomen nearly bursting out of too much food consumption! Haha

Blurry shot. Chubby me. But worth keeping since I am with my Dad and the dinner was memorable!

Happy tummy!

I disliked the service though. I had to repeat myself 2-3 times to our server every time I say something,our soup spoon arrived when our soup was already lukewarm. With a restaurant like Fire Lake Grill, it deserves better servers. The 10% service charge was not justified 😐

My brother’s crepe at Cafe Breton!! (my dessert) hahaha! Chot

My parents ❤ ❤ ❤

These babies screamed out my name when we arrived at our suite..who couldn’t resist Cheeto’s Jalapenos, Cheese Puffs, Clover Chips and Ruffles?? Whoooo??

My late night snack buddy 🙂

Can’t wait for another food indulgence with my Dad! ❤ 🙂

R

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

